India is celebrating its 72nd Republic Day on Tuesday. With Covid-19 guidelines and farmers’ tractor rally scheduled for today in the national capital, this year’s Republic Day will be certainly different. Thousands of armed personnel have been deployed at the Rajpath and several border points of Delhi in view of the celebrations and farmers’ tractor rally. This year’s spectators number has been reduced to 25,000 from 1.5 lakh last year. Keeping in mind social distancing norms, the size of marching contingents has been reduced from 144 to 96.  

A total of 32 tableaux — 17 of various states and UTs, nine of ministries and six from the defence arm — will be seen going down Rajpath this year. Among these, the tableaux of Ladakh –– the Union Territory that was created in 2019 after the bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir –– will be included for the first time.

One Rafale with 2 Jaguar Deep penetration strike aircraft & 2 MiG-29 Air Superiority Fighters, in ‘Eklavya’ formation are the next to fly past, at a height of 300m & speed of 780 Km/h. The formation is led by Gp Capt Rohit Kataria, Flight Commander of 17 Squadron.

Dakota aircraft flanked by 2 Mi-17 IV helicopters forms ‘Rudra’. Dakotas were instrumental in airlifting troops into Kashmir Valley to repel invaders from across border in 1947. They played a significant role in Tangail airdrop leading to Bangladesh’s libeartion.

Also Read: Farmers’ tractor rally live updates: Protesters vandalise DTC buses at ITO, situation tense

With the theme of ‘Aatma-Nirbhar Bharat Abhiyan, the tableau of the Department of Biotechnology depicts the process of #COVID19 Vaccine development through various processes.

The tableau of Uttar Pradesh is designed after the theme Ayodhya that also displays Ram Mandir. The forepart of the middle tableau shows Deepotsava of Ayodhya, in which millions of earthen lamps are lit.

Tableau of Punjab showcases the glory of 9th Sikh Guru, Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur. The tableau has the theme ‘400th Birth Anniversary of Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur’. The end of the trailer shows Gurdwara Sri Rakab Ganj Sahib, the site of cremation of Guru Tegh Bahadur.

The display of cultural tableaux has begun at #RepublicDay parade, with Ladakh leading. It’s the first-ever tableau of the Union Territory. The tableau represnts Ladakh’s culture & communal harmony besides its architecture, languages, festivals, literature and music.

DRDO contingent this year consists of two Tableaus, Light Combat Aircraft-Navy and Anti-Tank Guided Missiles.

A contingent of the National Security Guard (NSG), raised in 1984, march down Rajpath. The contingent is also known as the Black Cat Commandoes.

The Camel contingent of the Border Security Force under the command of Deputy Commandant Ghanshyam Singh at Republic Day parade at Rajpath.

Flt Lt Bhawna Kanth, one of the first three female fighter pilots of the country is part of the Indian Air Force tableau at the Republic Day parade. #RepublicDay

Captain Preeti Choudhary of 140 Air Defence Regiment (Self Propelled) led upgraded Schilka Weapon system at Rajpath. She is the only woman contingent commander from Army at this year’s #RepublicDay parade.

Naval Brass Band led by Sumesh Rajan, Master Chief Petty Officer (Musician), playing the Indian Navy Song tune Jai Bharti marches down Rajpath. #RepublicDay

Captain Rajpoot Saurabh Singh of 17th Battalion is leading the marching contingent Garhwal Rifles.

Marching Contingent & Band of Bangladesh Army participate in #RepublicDay parade and is being led by Lt Col Abu Mohammed Shahnoor Shawan. The 122-member strong contingent is participating in the parade for the first time.

The main battle tank of the Indian Army, T- 90 Bhishma, which is commanded by Captain Karanveer Singh Bhangu of 54 Armoured Regiment goes past the saluting dais. #RepublicDay

Winners of the Param Vir Chakra & the Ashok Chakra parade down Rajpath. Param Vir Chakra is awarded for acts of bravery & self-sacrifice in the face of the enemy. Ashok Chakra is awarded for similar acts of valour and self-sacrifice.

#RepublicDay parade has begun at Rajpath. Lieutenant General Vijay Kumar Mishra is leading this year’s parade as the Parade Commander.

The Ceremonial Battery of 223 Field Regiment presented 21 Gun Salute after the unfurling of the national flag. The 21 Gun Salute is also presented during Independence Day and visits of foreign Heads of State.

The Tricolor has been unfurled at Rajpath in the President Ram Nath Kovind, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other dignitaries, on 72nd #RepublicDay

President Kovind arrives at Rajpath

President Ram Nath Kovind has arrived at Rajpath the #RepublicDay parade and celebrations.

PM Modi signs ceremonial book

PM Modi has signed the ceremonial book at the National War Memorial in the presence of Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat, Chief of Army Staff Manoj Mukund Naravane and Chief of Navy Staff Admiral Karambir Singh PVSM.

PM Modi arrives at Rajpath

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has arrived at Rajpath. He leads the nation in paying tribute to the fallen soldiers by laying a wreath at the National War Memorial at the India Gateand laid a wreath at the National War Memorial at the India Gate.

BJP leaders unfurl tricolor at respective places.

Bharatiya Janata Party President JP Nadda unfurled the national flag at party headquarters on Republic Day. Several other leaders including Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla, RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat, Odisha Governor Ganeshi Lal and Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot unfurled tricolour at their respective offices.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh unfurled the Tricolour at his residence.

Spectators at Delhi’s Rajpath follow strict social distancing norms amid coronavirus pandemic.


Source link

Follow me!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: